FIFA World Cup: Which Team Will Compete Against Whom in the Eight Groups?

FIFA World Cup 2022 has started in Qatar. The event will officially begin with the opening ceremony of the FIFA World Cup 2022 in the Gulf country of Qatar on Sunday.

In the opening match of the event, hosts Qatar and Ecuador will compete. A total of 32 teams are participating in this World Cup, which lasts for about a month.

FIFA World Cup: Which Team Will Compete Against Whom in the Eight Groups?

These teams are divided into eight groups. Each group consists of four teams.

  • Group A: Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal, and the Netherlands
  • Group B: England, Iran, USA, and Wales
  • Group C: Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, and Poland
  • Group D: France, Denmark, Tanzania, Australia
  • Group E: Spain, Germany, Japan, and Costa Rica
  • Group F: Belgium, Canada, Morocco, Croatia
  • Group G: Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland, Cameroon
  • Group H: Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay, and Korea

These 32 teams will play group matches from November 20 to December 3 after which the top two teams from each group will qualify for the next stage i.e. Group 16.

Defending champion France will defend the title in the event. The French team will play its first match against Australia on November 23.

The World Cup of Football in Qatar is starting on Sunday.

The second phase of the event will start on December 3 where a total of eight matches will be played between 16 teams, after which the quarter-finals of the event will begin.

The eight best teams of the event will compete for the title in the quarter-finals, with four teams clashing in the semi-finals on December 14 and 15.

The final of the event will be played on December 18.

The special thing about Qatar FIFA World Cup is that this event is held in winter. Earlier this football festival was held between May, June or July. However, special preparations have been made by the Gulf country for this first major event of Qatar. According to an estimate, one million sports fans and tourists will visit Qatar during the World Cup.